Full Moon Manicures & Multiple Rituals

Merry Meet, all!
Tonight is December’s full moon, the last one of the year 2011. So, as I’ve posted previously, I’ve decided to do two full moon rituals; one for the kids and one for myself. Last night we did the ritual for the girls, and tonight I will do my own ritual, once I finish this post! I must admit, yesterday was amazing, by doing two separate rituals I was able to enjoy the family coven one a great deal more… but I’m skipping ahead of myself. So let’s rewind and start at the beginning, shall we?!

I guess the best place to start would be the full moon manicures! For some reason, when my girls got home from school yesterday they decided they all wanted to paint their nails, all of their nails. I’ve been putting this off for some time (much to Kiya’s disgust, I might add) and decided ‘what the hey, let’s go for it!’. We spread newspaper across the entire library floor, and pulled out about 10 bottles of nail polish and we painted our fingers and toes. It was lovely fun! And not as messy as I thought it might be. We are all sparkly and colourful now, fingers and toes. As I set up our alter and space, I was struck by inspiration, why stop at the nails, lets be festive. So we each put on a pretty summer dress too (our wood stove is in our library, and it heats the whole house, it gets HOT down there!). We added ritual jewellery, our head pieces and our cloaks. As you can see, we got dolled up to the nines! It’s kind of a crappy picture as it was taken with the webcam, but you get the idea.(Me, Kiya, Lily, and Topaz)

Magick Lily Rose had the honour of casting our circle for us last night. And next month will be Kiya’s turn, which will make her very happy. Three months of waiting is a long time when you are 4! I should mention that I took the picture of us all dressed up because I have decided that I will make a scrapbook BOS (Book of Shadows) for the family coven. I’m going to put in photos and wishes, and bits and pieces from rituals and celebrations, and anything else we can thing of and glue in there. It’ll be so much more meaningful for them then a bunch of words in a book. Here’s to hoping I can keep up with it! I should also mention we did have an incident in the circle last night. My older two got into a fight during ritual; they were right into each others faces, over something so trivial I can’t remember what it was. I made them stop, to apologize to each other, and then to put their hands on the floor and ground all the negative energy they had back into the earth. We then had a quick talk about creating negative energy in the circle, and explaining why we put up a circle to begin with. It was a great opportunity for me to teach them, and I took full advantage of it! After that we had a great ritual. I can not stress how much better the ritual was for me, when I could just sit back and guide the girls and just enjoy the experience. I fell like they got more out of it too. We still had a case of the wigglies, but what are you gonna do, they are children after all!

Well, it’s getting late. So I think I will wish you all a blessed full moon, and head down to find my own spiritual fulfilment (by.my.self!). May the light of the Mother Goddess shine brightly on your path, lighting your way tonight. And may your celebrations fill you with joy and light!
Blessed Be!

PS. I know it was an eclipse today but it was too early in the morning, and I was not prepared to do anything special. Cross my fingers that when the next one rolls around I wont be so new to this family coven thing, and I’ll have something awesome ready!

Leave a comment